Home Sports Youngest and Oldest Winners in US Open Golf Championship History

Youngest and Oldest Winners in US Open Golf Championship History


The 2024 U.S. Open Championship is the next major event on the golf calendar.

As the third major PGA tournament of the year, some of the world’s top golfers will gather at Pinehurst, North Carolina, for a chance to make history.

Among the notable competitors at Pinehurst will be Scottie Scheffler, Xander Schauffele, Tiger Woods, Brooks Koepka, and Wyndham Clark, among others.

With the tournament’s history dating back to 1895, who are the youngest and oldest winners to have claimed the U.S. Open trophy? Here’s what you need to know:

Who is the youngest U.S. Open golf winner?

The youngest winner of the U.S. Open is John McDermott, who claimed victory in 1911 at the age of 19 years, nine months, and 14 days. He was also the first American-born winner of the tournament.

The second youngest is Francis Ouimet, who won in 1913 at 20 years, four months, and 12 days, following McDermott’s repeat win in 1912.

Who is the oldest U.S. Open golf winner?

The oldest winner of the U.S. Open is Hale Irwin, who won the 1990 tournament at the age of 45 years and 15 days.

Before Irwin’s record, Raymond Floyd held the title, winning the 1986 tournament at 43 years, nine months, and 11 days.

Who are the youngest and oldest U.S. Open golfers in 2024?

The 2024 tournament might see some new records.

Bryan Kim, at 19, has the potential to become the youngest winner. Kim qualified for the tournament by winning the 2023 U.S. Junior Amateur Championship.

Veteran Phil Mickelson, at 54, could break the record for the oldest winner. Although Mickelson has never won the U.S. Open, he has placed second six times, most recently in 2013.

Who has the most U.S. Open golf wins?

Four golfers share the record for the most U.S. Open wins, each with four victories. They are:

  • Willie Anderson (Scotland): 1901, 1903, 1904, 1905
  • Bobby Jones (USA): 1923, 1926, 1929, 1930
  • Ben Hogan (USA): 1948, 1950, 1951, 1953
  • Jack Nicklaus (USA): 1962, 1967, 1972, 1980